Conservative Group Elect New Leader

Conservative Councillors on West Lindsey District Council have elected their leadership team at their Annual General Meeting.

Cllr. Giles McNeill, who represents the Nettleham Ward, has been elected as Leader of the Conservative Group on the Council. Meanwhile, Cllr. Owen Bierley, who represents the Caistor Ward, was also re-elected as Deputy Leader.

Cllr. McNeill has committed to continuing the Conservative Group’s work at the authority to provide quality frontline services to residents whilst keeping Council Tax low. Cllr. McNeill commented:

“I am enormously proud to be taking on this responsibility. I also know that I have a great team of councillors who will progress our ambition to build a bright future for everyone in West Lindsey. I will work hard to build consensus, within both our Group, and with the opposition parties and independent councillors.”

The election means that Cllr. Giles McNeill will be the majority Conservative Group’s nominee for Council Leader at the Annual Council Meeting on Thursday, 20th May and is therefore expected to become Leader of the Council. Cllr. McNeill added:

“West Lindsey District Council, like many Conservative-led councils, is both efficiently and effectively run. It is a positive record to inherit from my predecessor Cllr. Summers.”

Cllr. McNeill has announced the appointment of Cllr. Jackie Brockway, who represents the Saxilby Ward, as the Group’s Chief Whip. Supported by three Deputy Whips comprising Cllr. Tracey Coulson (Stow Ward), Cllr. John McNeill (Market Rasen Ward) and Cllr. Bob Waller (Sudbrooke Ward).